FEAR brings together the key complementary competences of four universities from three countries, integrating them into a coherent and synergetic program:

  • ETH Zurich (Prof. D. Giardini): preparation and running of the Bedretto Underground Laboratory, induced seismicity, rock-deformation laboratory, numerical modelling
  • RWTH Aachen (Prof. F. Amann): tunnelling operations, design and running of underground experiments, hydro-mechanical field data interpretation and integration
  • INGV (Prof. M. Cocco): physical and dynamic modeling, rock-deformation laboratory.
  • Swiss Seismological Service at ETH Zurich (Prof. S.Wiemer): statistical seismology, lab experimentation, microseismicity analysis, multi-scale modelling of natural and anthropogenic earthquakes

FEAR Project Structure

FEAR Project Structure
Please edit this text.